To configure the live chat authentication settings, you will first need to set up your single sign-on authenticator via the admin portal on the Integrations>Authentication Providers tab. 


For information on how to set up a new authentication provider, please review the Adding An Authentication Provider article.


After you have set up your authentication provider(s), navigate to the Chatbot Behavior Settings tab.


Select Edit on either the Default/No Office or Office tab to configure the live chat authentication settings.

From the Live Chat Authentication dropdown, select On.

Note: On the Office Settings tab, you will have the additional option of Default/No Office. Selecting this option will refer to the settings on the Default/No Office tab.


In the SSO Authentication Provider field, select your SSO authentication provider that was set up on the Authentication Providers tab.

Chatbot user experience

If live chat authentication has been configured, then the live chat participant must agree to log in to be added to the live chat queue. Live chat participants will also be required to log in to leave a message as well (i.e. fill out the contact form). 


The bot message displayed to the live chat participant is slightly different if live chat authentication is turned on: 

  • Live Chat Agent is available: “I have someone available now to chat. Would you like to log in to connect to them?"
  • Live Chat Agent is not available: “Would you like to log in to leave a message?"

Note that the “Live Chat First” experience is the same as if live chat were initiated after engaging with the bot in that the live chat participant is asked if they would like to log in to connect to an agent. 


Once a live chat participant chooses to authenticate (whether it’s to enter the live chat queue or leave a message), they are automatically redirected to the SSO login site configured by the institution. Upon successfully logging in, they are automatically redirected back to the bot. If the live chat participant is already logged in to the SSO in the browser in which they are engaging with the bot, then they are not required to re-authenticate. 


If a live chat participant is engaged in a live chat with an office that does not require authentication and is transferred to an office that does require authentication, the chatbot says “You are being transferred to an office that requires you to log in to connect to an agent. Would you like to log in to continue?”. In the admin portal, the live chat agent is prevented from sending messages until the user successfully logs into the SSO.


If the live chat user is required to authenticate but is unsuccessful, they can start a new chat in a different window or clear the conversation to start a new one. If they navigate using the “back” button, they will eventually be returned to the secure web bot and will no longer be able to engage with the bot unless they perform one of the options just mentioned. If the user selects to log in but does not attempt to log in (for example, they changed their mind and do not wish to log in), and then click the “back” button, they are returned to the bot and can engage with the bot.