This section of the user guide is focused on completing your question templates. To help you navigate the article we have broken it down into the following sections:


What are Question Templates?

Question templates are top questions that will increase your bot’s effectiveness when customized with school-specific responses. 


Who has access to Question Templates?

The Question Template page is available to individuals with the following permissions: 


For more information on user permissions, review the User Roles & Permissions article.


How do I complete Question Templates?

  1. Under the Chatbot section select Knowledge base>Question Templates.

  2. Select the filter icon. You can filter by category, library, office, and/or status

    Note: The Office filter will be dependent on your user permissions.

  3. Select the dropdown arrow on the right-hand side of the question. This will allow you to view the question.
    1. Select either Edit to create a custom answer, or Ignore to remove the template from your bot's knowledge base. 

      If you ignore or do nothing with a template, your chatbot will continue to utilize the response from the general library, if applicable. 
      1. To edit the template, in the default response field, update the custom response either by using one of the templates or by deleting the template and creating your own custom response.
        • Current Response: 
          • If there is a current response for the questions template, it will display here. This current response will display in the chatbot until either the question template is overridden and customized, or deleted. 
          • If there is no current response for the question, then the chatbot will respond with an IDK response until the question template has been updated. 
        • Customizable Response: To help you implement the chatbot, we have provided one or two templates for you to complete and delete any unwanted text.

          Note: Delete any content that is not a part of your custom response (including directions within the textbox. Any content in the default response will be the displayed response in the chatbot.


          For more information on the features available in creating a response, review the Creating a Knowledge Base Response article.

      2. Content Locking and Content Sharing toggles
        • Content Locking

          Chatbot - Administrator users can lock/unlock chatbot knowledge base content so that other users are unable to edit that content further. A content locking toggle is available to users with the Chatbot - Administrator role on the content edit screen. Turning on the Content Locking toggle prevents all fields from being edited, except by Chatbot -  Administrators. 


          For more information, review the Content Locking article.


        • Content Sharing

          Content sharing provides the ability for administrator-level users to manage knowledge base content for multiple bots in one centralized location, delivering a consistent message from each chatbot without having to create and edit content in each individual chatbot. The content sharing toggle is available to Chatbot - Administrator users on the content edit screen.


          For more information, review the Content Sharing article.

      3. Library and Category fields

        The library and category fields help categorize and determine what users have access to view/edit the question.  

        Library and Category are both required fields.


        The Category field is used for organizational purposes only.

        The Library field is used to associate knowledge base/custom questions with an office. When offices are set up within the chatbot, Ocelot assigns libraries to the office.

        Note:  Whenever a new office is set up, Ocelot automatically assigns the appropriate libraries to that office.

        In the same way, when chatbot users are set up, they are also assigned to an office. And based on the office they are assigned to, they are automatically granted access to the corresponding library content.

        A question may have more than one library associated with the question. Chatbot users can only add or remove a library they have permission to. 

        Use caution when deleting libraries from content so as not to remove access from other users in different departments/offices who made need access to the question. If a user deletes a library, users with access to that library will no longer be able to view/edit the content. 

        Example: if a general library question is assigned to the Financial Aid and Registrar’s Libraries, that question is viewable/editable by any user with access to the Financial Aid and/or Registrar's library. If a user overrides that general library question and changes the library field to only Financial Aid, then once that override is published, only chatbot users with the Financial Aid library can now view/edit.

        A user can select the Other library if no library matches the content. When Other is selected the question will then be moved to the moderation queue and reviewed by Ocelot staff. 

        If Other is listed in the library field, then the question is not restricted by library permissions, and all users can view/edit the question based on their permissions.


      4. Review Date (Optional): If you would like to set a specific date to review the question it will appear on the Awaiting Review page 30 days prior to the review date and depending on permissions, will receive an email notification.

      5. Expiration Date (Optional)

        • If the question was a general library (GL) question, when the expiration date arrives (at 12:00 PM in your timezone), the question will become unpublished and the original general library question/response will be re-instated in the bot.
        • If the question was a new custom question, created from scratch, when the expiration date arrives (at 12:00 PM in your timezone), the question will become unpublished and the bot will no longer respond to that question.
      6. Description (Optional)
        • The text entered in the description field will be visible on the Revi. This field can be used to provide context for the revision. 
      7. Select Save as Draft or Save and Publish. 
        • Save as Draft - creates a draft that can be reviewed later and published. These questions will also appear on the In Review and Drafts page, on the Drafts tab. 
        • Save and Publish - will publish the question and it will be made live within your knowledge base. 
      8. Repeat these steps until all templates are completed.


Completed templates will go live in your chatbot approximately 15 minutes after saving.


Once you have completed the question templates, review the Test Your Bot article.